Coming Back and Bloggers Bake For Hope 2012

Hi there.

Remember me?

Bubbly baking blogger from Boston passionate about serving scrumptious sweets to her family and friends? Sound familiar?

Well, I have most certainly not forgotten you. On the contrary, you’ve been on my mind and in my heart all this time- it’s been deeply distressing to be separated from all the phenomenal people who used to visit my site, as well as my fellow blogging buddies and baking groups. While it’s been more difficult than you can imagine for me to jump back in the mix, my very special role as a contributing member to the baking blogosphere is simply too important to abandon forever. It is an honor and a privilege to share my kitchen conquests with you, and I treasure the unique opportunity to connect with other talented and enthusiastic cooks and bakers from literally all over the world. Thankfully, I’ve come to know you lot as an extremely understanding and supportive group of folks, who welcome my participation with open arms whenever possible. Looking forward, I plan to partake in some new and exciting endeavors, including joining the Avid Bakers Challenge, an amazing assemblage of bakers led by my dear friend Hanaâ of “Hanaâ’s Kitchen,” who tackle the same recipe together each month. In the immediate future, I have the privilege of utilizing my baking to contribute to a great cause, Bloggers Bake For Hope 2012. When I discovered this exceptional effort to raise funds for the Avon Foundation, I just knew it was time to return to “Hot Oven, Warm Heart,” and in some small way, draw upon my baking for good.

Organized by two highly generous bloggers, Jen of “Beantown Baker” and Fiona of “A Boston Food Diary,” Bloggers Bake for Hope is an online virtual bake-sale event, with all proceeds benefiting the Avon Foundation. Participating bloggers will provide information about their baked goods, and each item will get its own blog post, which can be found here, when the bake sale opens on Monday, April 30th. If you would like to place a bid, leave a comment on the appropriate page with the dollar amount (All bidding will start at $15). Bidding will close on Wednesday, May 2nd, with the highest bidder being awarded the item. They will be notified via email during the weekend of May 5th, at which point they can return to the homepage, and pay via Paypal by clicking on the button reading “donate.” Once the donation has been made, the winner’s address will be sent to the baker, who will ship the baked goods sometime during the month of May. It’s really much simpler than it sounds, I promise!

When selecting my submission, I drew upon my greatest inspiration, both in life and the kitchen, my beloved Grammy. She cooked her way into countless hearts over the years, serving up mouth-watering meals and special memories that will stay with those she touched forever. My best friend, and my hero, Grammy and I shared a sincere passion for preparing food and serving others that goes beyond words. Along with innumerable other life lessons that have shaped me into the woman I am today, she taught me what it means to translate love to the plate. As my passion for baking grew, her support was inimitable and I could see the pride she felt shining deeply in her eyes. Of the many treats I had the pleasure of making for her, these simple corn muffins, always served alongside my homemade jam, made her light up in a way I can’t describe. It was as if she couldn’t believe her granddaughter had possibly baked something so delicious. I never understood what was so special about these muffins, but I certainly understood how special she made me feel when she ate one.

I hope the recipient of my package, complete with Grammy’s favorite corn muffins and jam, knows just how much I appreciate their support, and that tucked inside they just might find a little bit of love I was sure not to forget.

Me and Grammy in her kitchen, 1989

10 responses

  1. Great post Joy! I am so very proud of your effort. I hope in our eating and loving these muffins and jam, we are able to convey some of the love and appreciation that Grandma always had for them and for you.

    With love,
    Your always fan, Mommy

  2. What a lovely blog post and worthy cause, Joy. I just love that picture of you and your grandma!! And if she loved those corn muffins that much, I’d definitely like to try her recipe sometime as if I have yet to find a corn muffin recipe that tastes good with the perfect amount of sweetness, that isn’t dry. I’m really happy you’re back to blogging and welcome you to ABC with open arms. I will email you the ABC badges soon and also add you to the ABC blog roll. Can’t wait to see your future ABC (and non-ABC) blog posts. Please do blog about the Pecan Tassies if you get around making them. Welcome back, my friend!!! :o)

  3. Joy: What a nice surprise to hear from you and to know that you are back up on line! I have missed reading your “story behind the story” posts about the different items you’ve baked. You always teach me something interesting. I’m looking forward to reading more…and trying the recipes, of course. I, too, loved the picture. Your grandmother was, indeed, the most special of women. I like to think of myself as one of her many non-biological daughters – even if I do like butter on my roast beef sandwiches! 🙂 ( Ask your mom about the first time she took me to a Jewish deli in Brookline.)
    Love, Aunt Karen

  4. JOY!!!!! I absolutely remember you!! I spent many moments perusing your blog and I fondly remember our chats and emails!! I am SO happy to see you coming back. How have you been?? My email address has changed but feel free to email me anytime!!! jpinnick86@gmail.com

    Welcome back!! I can’t wait to see what you’ll be baking up!!!

  5. Joy-what a wonderful surprise to come home to! It was all that both my husband and I could do but tear through your beautiful packaging and lovely note to reveal the gem of your muffins and jams! Of course, we needed to decide for ourselves which way tasted “best” and while one was browning in the toaster, with butter at the ready, we stood at the kitchen sink, leaning and talking about our day-noshing on another. Delicious! TOTAL comfort food…love ’em. I told Sam that I couldn’t be left at home, alone with these treats (just the 2 of us…) and that he needed to take some to work. “Okay”, he replied. Just this morning, as he was leaving, I caught him running out the door with TWO containers. “OH, no!” “You get just one!” and so now here I am…with 6 lovely muffins and a jar of homemade goodness all to myself!

    Krisa

Leave a comment